A Midsummer Night's Dream
"A Midsummer Night’s Dream" is one of the most beloved pieces of the world theatre repertory.
Production

Shakespeare's comedy A Midsummer Night's Dream (1598) makes such a surprisingly charming impression due to an absolutely unique combination of reality and fiction, of serious and funny, of lyrics and humor. The Great Bard filled the play with fictional, fantastic creatures and unusual events, creating a dreamy reality.

“A Midsummer Night's Dream” is one of the favorite works of the world theater repertoire. Among the most famous productions is the performance by Peter Brook of 1970. The director denied all theatre traditions of “Dream” and produced the play on an empty white stage. He introduced the trapeze acrobatics in the performance and was the first to use the same actors for the characters of Theseus/Oberon and Hippolyta/Titania, to say that the fairy and elfin world is a reflection of the world of humans.

Director Ruslan Nanava about ​​the performance conception:

At the beginning of the rehearsals we were searching for real relationships, for real situations, and with this approach we gradually began to understand that really “...we are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little life is rounded with a sleep” ... One can think that dream is a calm, still and dead state. I believe that dream is much more efficient than our reality we are living in everyday life without giving vent to our feelings and emotions as it happens when we dream. And that is why dream is wonderful, it is not a different reality, but instead it is about those real, true feelings and thoughts that fill us. The social barrier and controlling pattern are going away, and we can see the human soul in its true, the most open and naked state.

There are two groups of characters in our performance: gods and humans. We do not stage a play about some mythical elves or aliens, but about humans, therefore we give human qualities to gods.

16+

Running time 2 h. 50 min. including interval

  • Director - Ruslan Nanava
  • Set Designer - Nikolay Slobodyanik
  • Costume Designer - Maria Lukka
  • Lighting Designer - Valentin Bakoyan

Premiere: 21.03.2020

  •  
Performance A Midsummer Night's Dream in What's On

Сон в летнюю ночь ПРЕМЬЕРА
«Сон в летнюю ночь» - одно из любимых произведений мирового театрального репертуара.
Постановка

Комедия Шекспира «Сон в летнюю ночь» (1598 г.) производит удивительно обаятельное впечатление совершенно неповторимым сочетанием реальности и фантастики, серьезного и смешного, лирики и юмора. Великий Бард наполнил пьесу вымышленными, фантастическими существами, представил события в  необычном виде, создав сновидческую реальность.

«Сон в летнюю ночь» - одно из любимых произведений мирового театрального репертуара. Среди самых известных постановок – спектакль Питера Брука 1970-го года. Режиссер  решительно отмёл все театральные традиции «Сна» и поставил пьесу на пустой белой сцене. Он ввёл в пьесу акробатические номера на трапециях и первым предложил использовать для ролей Тезея/Оберона и Ипполиты/Титании одних и тех же актёров, показывая, таким образом, что мир фей и эльфов — это отражение мира людей.

 

Руслан Нанава о замысле спектакля:

-В начале репетиций мы искали реальные отношения, реальные ситуации, и при этом подходе постепенно начинали понимать,  что действительно «...мы сотканы из вещества того же, что наши сны, и сном окружена вся наша маленькая жизнь»… Кто-то считает, что сон - это  спокойное, обездвиженное, недейственное состояние. Мне кажется, что сон как раз намного действеннее, чем наша реальность, в которой мы погружаемся в ежедневную рутину и не даем выхода своим чувствам, эмоциям, как это происходит во сне. И этим сон прекрасен, это не какая-то другая реальность,  это, скорее, наоборот: те самые живые, настоящие чувства и мысли, которые нас наполняют. Уходит социальная преграда, уходит контролирующая норма, и мы видим человеческую душу в ее истинном, в самом незакрытом, обнаженном состоянии.

В нашем спектакле действуют две группы персонажей: боги и люди. Мы не ставим спектакль про каких-то мифических эльфов, инопланетян,  мы делаем его про людей, поэтому наделяем богов человеческими качествами.

16+

Продолжительность спектакля 2 ч. 50 мин. с антрактом

  • Художник-постановщик - Слободяник Николай
  • Художник по костюмам - Лукка Мария
  • Художник по свету - Бакоян Валентин

Премьера состоялась 21.03.2020

  •  
Спектакль Сон в летнюю ночь ПРЕМЬЕРА в афише